A Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells is a series of seven books by Alfred Wainwright, A beautiful anniversary edition of all seven of the Pictorial Guides. These are explains the fells of the Lake District in north west England.
Pictorial Guide To the Lakeland Fells Collection 7 Books Set By Alfred Wainwright - 50th Anniversary Edition by Alfred Wainwright
Pictorial Guide To the Lakeland Fells Collection 7 Books Set By Alfred Wainwright - 50th Anniversary Edition by Alfred Wainwright
Out of Stock


Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells Collection 7 Books Box Set Pack (50th Anniversary Edition)


The Eastern Fells

The Eastern Fells includes the greatest single concentrated mass of high ground in Lakeland: a tremendous barrier running north and south, high and steep all along its length, rising to above 3000 feet on Helvellyn the most-often climbed mountain in the Lake District. Popular resorts such as Ambleside and Grasmere lie in this sector of the fells, as does the beautiful Patterdale valley (the best base, in Wainwright's view, for exploring the area)

The Far Eastern Fells

A Lakeland Fellranger walking guide by Mark Richards exploring 33 summits in the Far Eastern Fells of the Lake District, including a wide range of walks old and new, between Pooley Bridge to the north and Windermere to the south. Among the summits featured are Hallin Fell and Place Fell on the shores of Ullswater, Kidsty Pike above Haweswater and the fells of the famous Kentmere horseshoe to the south. Author Mark Richards combines his passion for the Lake District and artistic flair with all the information the experienced walker needs to explore and enjoy the Far Eastern fells. For each of the 33 hills covered, this guide offers a dedicated chapter, with full descriptions of a range of both undiscovered and time-honoured routes, full-colour Harvey maps and clear elevation diagrams, detailed summit panoramas and plenty of inspiring photographs. This guide is the last to be published in Cicerone's 8-volume Lakeland Fellranger series, which provides a comprehensive new guide to the fells of the English Lake District, with a selection of new routes up more than 220 hills.

The Central Fells

The Central Fells of the Lake District include treasures such as the ever-popular Langdale Pikes, the supremely lovely foothills overlooking Borrowdale and the 'silent forests and gaunt crags' above the dark waters of Thirlmere. For walkers heading in this direction, and lovers of the Lakeland fells, this is the guide to take.

The Sothern Fells

The Southern Fells include the highest, roughest, grandest fells in Lakeland including the highest mountain in England, Scafell Pike. Wainwright a fell-walking legend in his own lifetime knew the terrain and conveyed its grandeur and beauty like nobody else. In this unique Pictorial Guide, he writes of the glorious curves and simple grandeur of Great Langdale; of Wasdale, 'an emerald amongst sombre hills'; of enchanting Borrowdale; of the sparkling radiance of the Duddon; and of the most delectable valley of all Eskdale, 'sanctuary of peace and solitude'.

The North Western Fells

The North Western Fells are bounded by the River Derwent and the River Cocker an area lauded by A. Wainwright as first-class fell-walking territory. The ridge walking here is some of the finest in the Lake District, offering views of unsurpassed beauty. There is something for all walkers: steep, high mountains such as Grasmoor, rugged individualists such as Castle Crag, and destinations such as Catbells, which Wainwright calls 'a family fell where grandmothers and infants can climb the heights together, a place beloved'.

The Western Fells

The Western Fells lie within a wide sector, driving deep into the heart of Lakeland at Sty Head. They are bounded in the north-west by the Cocker valley, 'jewelled by the lovely lakes of Buttermere and Crummock Water'. South-west their boundary is Wasdale, running towards the sea.

The Northern Fells

The Northern Fells include the rolling Caldbeck and Uldale Fells 'serene and restful, a perfect sanctuary for birds and animals and fell-walkers who prefer to be away from the crowds'; Skiddaw 'an affable, friendly giant'; majestic Blencathra 'the mountaineer's mountain'; Latrigg the favourite of visitors to Keswick and many more. They offer the walker excellent tramping and exhilarating freedom to wander at will.

Bibliographic Information

Pictorial Guide To the Lakeland Fells Collection 7 Books Set By Alfred Wainwright - 50th Anniversary Edition

Cat No:
Product ID:

About Author

Alfred Wainwright was a British fellwalker, guidebook author and illustrator. His seven-volume Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells, published between 1955 and 1966 and consisting entirely of reproductions of his manuscript, has become the standard reference work to 214 of the fells of the English Lake District. Among his 40-odd other books is the first guide to the Coast to Coast Walk, a 192-mile long-distance footpath devised by Wainwright which remains popular today.

Snazal Reviews

Pictorial Guide To the Lakeland Fells Collection 7 Books Set By Alfred Wainwright, Is recommended by Snazal Books.

Customer Reviews

Best collection for who visit the Lake District...


Product Related Video for Pictorial Guide To the Lakeland Fells Collection 7 Books Set By Alfred Wainwright - 50th Anniversary Edition

Related Tags: 9780711234925, frances lincoln, alfred wainwright, pictorial guide to the lakeland fells collection, alfred wainwright collection, pictorial guide, alfred wainwright books, alfred wainwright collection, alfred wainwright book collection, alfred wainwright book collection set, pictorial guide to the lakeland fells, pictorial guide to the lakeland fells books, pictorial guide to the lakeland fells book collection, pictorial guide to the lakeland fells book collection set