Simon Scarrow Eagles of the Empire Series 5 Books - 9781472250889, 978-1472250889
Simon Scarrow Eagles of the Empire Series 5 Books Collection Set Titles in the Set are Under the Eagle, The Eagle Conquest, When the Eagle Hunts, The Eagle and the Wolves, The Eagle Prey.
Simon Scarrow Eagles of the Empire Series 5 Books Collection Set by Simon Scarrow
Simon Scarrow Eagles of the Empire Series 5 Books Collection Set by Simon Scarrow
Out of Stock

Description

Simon Scarrow Eagles of the Empire Series 5 Books Collection Set 

Description

Under the Eagle

UNDER THE EAGLE is the gripping first novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling EAGLES OF THE EMPIRE series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell. It is AD 42, and Quintus Licinius Cato has just arrived in Germany as a new recruit to the Second Legion, the toughest in the Roman army. If adjusting to the rigours of military life isn't difficult enough for the bookish young man, he also has to contend with the disgust of his colleagues when, because of his imperial connections, he is appointed a rank above them. As second-in-command to Macro, the fearless, battle-scarred centurion who leads them, Cato has more to prove than most in the adventures that lie ahead. Then the men discover that the army's next campaign will take them to a land of unparalleled barbarity - Britain. After the long march west, Cato and Macro undertake a special mission that will thrust them headlong into a conspiracy that threatens to topple the Emperor himself...

The Eagle's Conquest

THE EAGLE'S CONQUEST is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. When Centurion Macro arrives on British soil as one of Emperor Claudius's invasion force in AD 43, he is facing one of the toughest campaigns of his battle-scarred career. In a series of bloody skirmishes, Macro and his young subordinate, Optio Cato, and the desperately outnumbered Roman army must find and defeat the enemy before he grows strong enough to overwhelm the legions. But the Britons are not the only foe facing Macro and Cato. A sinister organisation opposed to the Emperor is secretly betraying the invaders. And when rumours of an assassination attempt coincide with the Emperor's arrival on British soil, the soldiers realise they are up against a force more ruthless than their acknowledged enemy...

When the Eagle Hunts

WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. After a series of bloody battles, Camulodunum (modern-day Colchester) has fallen to the invading Roman army. The Emperor has returned to Rome, leaving the fearless Centurion Macro and his young Optio, Cato, to rest and regroup, along with the rest of the Second Legion. As their leader General Plautius plans the next phase of their campaign, word arrives that the ship carrying his family to join him was wrecked in a storm off the south coast. His wife and children have fallen into the hands of a dark sect of Druids, who now demand the return of those of their brotherhood taken prisoner by the Romans. Unless their demands are met within one month, Plautius's family will be burned alive. Will Cato and Macro discover where the Druids are hiding their hostages? And can they find some way to rescue them before time runs out?

The Eagle and the Wolves

THE EAGLE AND THE WOLVES is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. It's AD 44, and Vespasian and the Second Legion are forging ahead in their campaign to seize the south-west of Britain. Macro and newly appointed centurion Cato are ordered to provide Verica, ruler of the Atrebatans, with an army. They must train his tribal levies into a force that can protect him and take on the increasingly ambitious raids that the enemy is launching. But despite the Atrebatans' official allegiance to Rome, open revolt is brewing, for many want to resist the Roman invaders. Macro and Cato must win the loyalty of the disgruntled levies - but can they succeed whilst surviving a deadly plot to destroy both of them? Macro and Cato face the greatest test of their army careers as only they stand between the destiny of Rome and bloody defeat...

The Eagle's Prey

It is late summer 44 AD and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the Emperor to crush the natives once and for all. Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus and it's their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus's nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape. Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become a fugitive pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades, as well as the Britons, Cato's small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals...

Bibliographic Information

Simon Scarrow Eagles of the Empire Series 5 Books Collection Set

SKU:
U46-SimonScarrow-5bks
Location:
UD-E14
Cat No:
SNW276
Product ID:
DEALMAN-U46-SimonScarrow-5bks
EAN:
9781472250889
Publisher:
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English

About Author

Simon Scarrow (born 3 October 1962) is a UK-based author, born in Nigeria and now based in Norfolk. Simon completed a master's degree at the University of East Anglia[1] after working at the Inland Revenue, and then went into teaching as a lecturer, firstly at East Norfolk Sixth Form College, then at City College Norwich. He is best known for his Eagle series of Roman military fiction set in the territories of the Roman Empire, covering the second invasion of Britain and the subsequent prolonged campaign undertaken by the rump of the Julio-Claudian dynasty. As of June 2016, there are 14 books in the series; the latest, Invictus, is due to be published in November 2016. He has also written another series, Revolution, focusing on Wellington and Napoleon, whose first title, Young Bloods, was published in 2006. The second volume, The Generals, was released on 31 May 2007 and the third volume Fire and Sword was released in January 2009. The fourth and final novel of the series was released in Jun 2010 and is called The Fields of Death. He began publishing a new series in 2011 titled Gladiator.

Snazal Reviews

Simon Scarrow Eagles of the Empire Series 5 Books Collection Set is recommend by Snazal Wholesale books shop at best price.

Customer Reviews

Nice books to read for children, I really like the series all the books are fantastically written.

Videos


Product Related Video for Simon Scarrow Eagles of the Empire Series 5 Books Collection Set


Related Tags: 9781472250889, simon scarrow, eagles of the empire series, simon scarrow collection, under the eagle, when the eagle hunts, simon scarrow books, the eagle and the wolves, the eagles prey

Other Books